top of page

I am not just a photographer but a writer too.  Currently I have five books available, published by Merlin Unwin Books, Britain's leading publisher of countryside books. My newest book, "The North Pennines: England's Last Wilderness, a Photographic Celebration" will be published on 25 April 2024.
The books are published under my maiden name of Helen Shaw.
The books are available directly from me, from Merlin Unwin Books, any good bookstore, or online.
 "A String of Pearls; landscape and literature of the Lake District" and is an anthology of writings about the Lake District, each coupled with a stunning landscape photograph. There are a couple of images from the book below and in the slideshow at the foot of this page.
Forest of Bowland book by Helen Shaw

Read an excerpt by clicking here...


Reviewed by Pam Norfolk of Lancashire Evening Post:

'In a captivating and fascinating new book, packed with stunning images from the camera of professional local photographer Helen Shaw, many of Bowland’s secret places are uncovered in spectacular fashion.

Find a peaceful corner, dip into this enchanting new book and enjoy Bowland in all its unforgettable splendour.'


Reviewed in This England:

'This splendid book contains outstanding colour photos and informative, explanatory text. It also represents great value for money and will give lasting pleasure.'

Land's End to John O'Groats Book by Helen Shaw and Bob Shelmerdine
Pennines jacket Final (2).jpg

Read an excerpt by clicking here...


Reviewed by Martin Hesp of Western Morning News in August 2017

'Why beat yourself up by doing the whole long shooting match in one go? Why not enjoy the British countryside at its best as you dawdle vaguely northwards through hill and dale? On the way, Helen took stunning photographs of the route and its coastal paths, meadowland, country lanes, moors and woods. With disarming frankness, she and Bob touch on the highs and lows of the adventure, their reactions to it, the surprising discoveries and the sheer joy of getting to know Britain in a completely new way.'

The book covers the whole of the Pennine range from the Peak District in the south to Hadrian's Wall in the north.  There is also a chapter on the Cheviots as this is where the Pennine Way finishes, even though they are not Pennine hills!

There a few images from the new book in a slide show below.

bottom of page